Moreton Bay public holidays 2024

Published 2:00pm 31 August 2023

Moreton Bay public holidays 2024
Words by Nadia Chapman

Are you wondering when the next best time is to enjoy a day off work? Here’s a list of all the public and school holidays for 2024 for the City of Moreton Bay.

Public Holidays:

New Year’s Day – Monday, January 1

Australia Day – Friday, January 26

Good Friday – Friday, March 29

Easter Saturday – Saturday, March 30

Easter Sunday – Sunday, March 31

Easter Monday – Monday, April 1

Anzac Day – Thursday, April 25

Labour Day – Monday, May 6

Ekka – Monday, August 12

King’s Birthday – Monday, October 7

Christmas Day – Wednesday, December 25

Boxing Day – Thursday, December 26

School Holidays:

Autumn holidays – Friday, March 29 to Sunday, April 14

Winter holidays – Saturday, June 22 to Sunday, July 7

Spring holidays – Saturday, September 14 to Sunday, September 29

Summer holidays – Saturday, December 14 to Monday, January 27 2025

Maximise your annual leave

Don’t use all your annual leave at once. If you know what public holidays are coming, you can plan your time off better and extend your holidays with ease.

Here’s some longer holiday hacks …

Australia Day

When: Friday, January 26

Score a one-week holiday by taking four days of annual leave from Monday, January 22 to Thursday, January 25. The 26th is the public holiday, followed by the weekend for maximised holiday fun.

Easter

When: Friday, March 29 to Monday, April 1

Take advantage of a whopping 10-day holiday by taking four days of annual leave from Tuesday, April 2 to Friday, April 5. These four days of annual leave will conveniently link up with the following weekend.

Christmas

When: Wednesday, December 25

The festive season is one of the most exciting periods of the whole year, and you can score a 14-day holiday by taking only five days of annual leave. Here’s a list of days you should take your annual leave on to maximise your holiday period:

  • Monday, December 23
  • Tuesday, December 24
  • Friday, December 27
  • Monday, December 30
  • Tuesday, December 31
  • Thursday, January 2
  • Friday, January 3

Share

Related Stories

Popular Stories

Leena to add some jazz and pizazz to festival
News / Local

Leena to add some jazz and pizazz to festival

Seasoned vocalist Leena Salim will perform some of her favourite jazz and Motown hits when she takes to the stage with her jazz duo at this year’s Moreton Bay Food + Wine Festival. Find out what's on her setlist here

Ferny Hills street library fostering connection
News / Local

Ferny Hills street library fostering connection

A new street library and community pantry at Ferny Hills is helping young adults with disabilities forge deeper connections with the local community. Find out where it is...

Plunge bathhouse coming to Redcliffe
News / Local

Plunge bathhouse coming to Redcliffe

Redcliffe will soon be home to Plunge Bathhouse and Recovery Centre. We chat to the woman behind it and find out when it will open