Honours for Dickson’s local heroes

Published 1:00pm 1 February 2024

Honours for Dickson’s local heroes
Words by Kylie Knight

Local heroes have been recognised for their contribution to the community during this year’s Dickson Community Awards, presented alongside the Australia Day Citizenship Ceremony at Samford.

The awards, presented on Australia Day by Federal Member for Dickson and Opposition Leader Peter Dutton, recognised individuals, businesses and organisations making a difference.

Mr Dutton congratulated the recipients, thanking them for their valuable service.

“These individuals are ordinary people with families and regular lives, yet they do amazing things,” he said.

“Congratulations to all recipients; your kindness and outstanding actions greatly contribute to

making Dickson an even better community.”

For Local Legend of the Year Kevin Couch, of Albany Creek, it was the third honour in the past couple of years.

Moreton Bay City Council named a walking path in an Albany Creek park after Kevin last year to recognise his contribution in connecting the local community.

It is known as Kevin’s Way.

It followed his Moreton Bay Australia Day Community Spirit Award win earlier in 2023.

Kevin chats with everyone he meets on his twice-daily walks, which sparked the idea of hosting regular morning teas on public holidays in local parks around the neighbourhood.

To promote the events, he drops invitations into local letterboxes, makes signs to hang in the park and writes in chalk on the park’s footpath – with one morning tea attracting more than 100 neighbours.

Honours for Dickson’s local heroes
Federal Member for Dickson Peter Dutton with Kevin Couch.

Meet the recipients

  1. Citizen of the Year: Melissa Redsell OAM [Brendale]
  2. Small Business of the Year: The Long Yard Larder [Samford]
  3. Community Group of the Year: Dayboro Boomerang Bags [Dayboro]
  4. Sportsperson of the Year: Max Neumann [Mount Samson]
  5. Young Sportsperson of the Year: Tobi Rinaldi [Albany Creek]
  6. Local Legend of the Year: Kevin Couch [Albany Creek]
  7. Ian ‘Watto’ Watson Great Mate Award: Marvin Tenio [Strathpine]
  8. Inspirational Youth Award: Brendan MacKay [Arana Hills]
  9. Youth Achievement Award: Amiel Haddy [Albany Creek]
  10. Community Service Award: Scott Harris [Lawnton] Sandra Huelsmann [Samford] Graham Turk [Albany Creek] Elizabeth Willett [Albany Creek]
  11. Volunteer Award: Kevin Greensill [Ferny Hills] Rose O’Neill [Arana Hills] Zena Martin [Dayboro]


Related Stories

Popular Stories

Deception Bay student’s trip of a lifetime
News / Local

Deception Bay student’s trip of a lifetime

From a visit to the world’s largest sand island to watching major sports matches, Deception Bay State High School student Sophia Sidney has taken the trip of a lifetime with University of the Sunshine Coast. See the videos..

Brenden's pride at top Paris honour
News / Local

Brenden's pride at top Paris honour

Brenden Hall - who grew-up and trained in Moreton Bay - is “over the bloody moon” at being named one of Australia’s two flag bearers at the Paralympic Games Opening Ceremony.

Leena to add some jazz and pizazz to festival
News / Local

Leena to add some jazz and pizazz to festival

Seasoned vocalist Leena Salim will perform some of her favourite jazz and Motown hits when she takes to the stage with her jazz duo at this year’s Moreton Bay Food + Wine Festival. Find out what's on her setlist here