Latest from Moreton Bay City Council divisions in Local Government Elections

Published 6:00pm 16 March 2024

Latest from Moreton Bay City Council divisions in Local Government Elections
Words by Nick Crockford

LATEST: The votes are being counted and growing for the Moreton Bay City Council elections on the ECQ (Electoral Commission Queensland) unofficial preliminary count results page.

Remember counting has only just started and has a very, very long way to go with postal votes to be returned by March 26.

Latest figures

Division Two:

(Burpengary East and parts of Beachmere, Burpengary, Caboolture, Deception Bay, Morayfield, Narangba and Ningi)

Mark Booth 13063

Greg Dillon 2111

Division Three:

(Caboolture South and parts of Bellmere, Caboolture, Moodlu and Morayfield)

Adam Hain 12871

Kerri Raedel 6729

Division Five:

(Newport, Rothwell, Scarborough and parts of Deception Bay, Kippa-Ring and Narangba)

Garry Ohlson 2132

Sandra Ruck 9621

Dean Teasdale 7649

Division Six:

(Clontarf, Margate, Redcliffe, Woody Point and parts of Kippa-Ring)

Benita Suckling 3360

Karl Winchester 7049

Division Eight:

(Bray Park, Lawnton, Petrie, Strathpine and parts of Joyner, Kallangur and Kurwongbah)

Sue Laird 2947

Stephen Huxtable 1170

Jamie Walter 5409

Tara Seiffert-Smith 2751

Jim Moloney 7877

Division Ten:

(Arana Hills, Bunya, Draper, Everton Hills, Ferny Hills and parts of Albany Creek)

Matt Constance 13808

Andrew Murphy 3033

Brent McDowall 4143

Division 12:

(Bellthorpe, Booroobin, Bracalba, Campbells Pocket, Cedarton, Commissioners Flat, D'Aguilar, Delaneys Creek, Moorina, Mount Delaney, Mount Mee, Neurum, Rocksberg, Stanmore, Stony Creek, Upper Caboolture, Wamuran, Wamuran Basin, Woodford and parts of Bellmere, Burpengary, Caboolture, Elimbah, Moodlu and Morayfield)

Errol O'Brien 1334

Adrian Raedel 5032

Tony Latter 7878

ECQ says early figures suggest around one million electors cast their vote today. This is in addition to the around 1.1 million Queenslanders who voted early and around 300,000 who had returned their postal vote.

EARLIER: From what we are seeing, in Division 8 - where Cr Mick Gillam has retired - Jim Moloney has an early advantage with 880 votes, Jamie Walter is on 569, Sue Laird 398, Tara Seiffert-Smith 370 and Stephen Huxtable 165.

Matt Constance, the sitting councillor in Division 10, has 709 votes from the Samford Early Voting Centre and Everton Hills booths. Andrew Murphy is on 184 and Brent McDowell 299.

In Division 5, figures have started coming in from the Scarborough booth showing Garry Ohlson 174, Sandra Ruck 753 and Dean Teasdale 614.

The same booth has posted Division 6 figures with Benita Suckling on 185 and Karl Winchester 373

EARLIER: The polling booths have closed and the counting has started in the 2024 Local Government Elections – with seven positions up for grabs on Moreton Bay City Council.

Division 8 has seen the biggest battle with five nominations to replace long-serving councillor Mick Gillam who has retired.

Independents Jim Moloney, Jamie Walter, Stephen Huxtable and Susan Laird have been joined by Greens candidate Tara Seiffert-Smith.

Division 5 sees sitting Councillor Sandra Ruck, who joined council in 2020, challenged by Garry Ohlson and former mayoral candidate Dean Teasdale.

In Division 10 sitting councillor Matt Constance, seeking a third term, has been challenged by Andrew Murphy and Brent McDowall.

Former Councillor Adrian Raedel is looking to reclaim Division 12 from sitting councillor Tony Latter, who was elected in 2020, with Errol O’Brien completing the candidates.

Karl Winchester, who won Division 6 in 2020, is looking to return and is up against Greens candidate Benita Suckling.

Sitting Councillor Adam Hain, looking for his third term, faces Kerri Raedel in Division 3 and sitting Councillor Mark Booth, who has completed his first term, faces Gregory Dillon for Division 2.

Residents in five divisions have not gone to the today with their nominations uncontested.

Councillors Brooke Savige (Div 1), Jodie Shipway (Div 4), Yvonne Barlow (Div 7), Cath Tonks (Div 9) and Darren Grimwade (Div 11) were unopposed.

Peter Flannery was also the only candidate to nominate for Mayor and will return to Moreton Bay City Council for a second four-year term.


Related Stories

Popular Stories

$1m raised for at-risk youth
News / Local

$1m raised for at-risk youth

Thirty-six Brisbane business leaders have officially raised more than $1 million for charity organisation TRACTION, to help support at-risk youth. Here's the story

Keanu, 6, ready to take on world
News / Local

Keanu, 6, ready to take on world

Six-year-old Keanu Samson, from Mango Hill, will soon pack his bags and fly 15,000km for the ‘Super Bowl’ of children’s golf. ** FREE TO READ **

Highway hope for battling residents
News / Local

Highway hope for battling residents

Work has started on possible new routes for Stage 4 of the Bruce Highway Western Alternative (BHWA) after a huge community backlash to original plans. ** FREE TO READ **