Moreton Bay City Council taking shape after Local Government Elections

Published 4:20pm 17 March 2024

Moreton Bay City Council taking shape after Local Government Elections
Words by Nick Crockford

The make-up of the next Moreton Bay City Council is becoming clearer - though not confirmed - after unofficial preliminary vote counts in the Local Government Elections.

Figures on the Electoral Commission Queensland (ECQ) website show six of the sitting councillors leading as work begins on the official preferences.

While little has been posted on social media pages since booths closed yesterday, some have celebrated and others appear to have accepted the likely outcome.

Division 8, where long-standing Councillor Mick Gillam has retired, had the most candidates and today has Jim Moloney on 7892 (39.05 per cent) of the votes counted, with his closest challenger Jamie Walter 5420 (26.82 per cent).

Sitting Councillor Sandra Ruck is seeking a second term and is ahead in Division 5 with 9621 (49.59 per cent), with Dean Teasdale nearest on 7649 (39.42 per cent).

Division 12 figures have sitting Councillor Tony Latter, who has completed his first term, on 7878 (55.31 per cent) leading Adrian Raedel 5032 (35.33 per cent).

On their campaign social media pages, Adrian Raedel and Dean Teasdale suggest they may not be able to catch the sitting councillors.

Contests appear clearer cut in the other divisions with one celebration under way. 

Sitting Councillor Mark Booth has 13,063 (86.09 per cent) and says on his campaign Facebook page he is "beyond proud to be returned as your Councillor for Division 2". 

Challenger Greg Dillon is on 2111 (13.91 per cent).

Adam Hain, chasing a third term in Division 3, also appears on track with 12,871 (65.67 per cent), while Kerri Raedel has 6729 (34.33 per cent).

Similarly, Karl Winchester has a sizeable lead and seems set for a second term in Division 6 with 7886 (67.78 per cent) ahead of Benita Suckling 3748 (32.22 per cent).

And sitting councillor Matt Constance is on course for a third term, leading Division 10 with 13,827 (65.79 per cent). Brett McDowall is next on 4149 (19.47).

Councillors Brooke Savige (Div 1), Jodie Shipway (Div 4), Yvonne Barlow (Div 7), Cath Tonks (Div 9) and Darren Grimwade (Div 11) were unopposed.

Peter Flannery was also the only candidate to nominate for Mayor and will return to Moreton Bay City Council for a second four-year term.

Unofficial preliminary count:

Division Two:

(Burpengary East and parts of Beachmere, Burpengary, Caboolture, Deception Bay, Morayfield, Narangba and Ningi)

Mark Booth 13063

Greg Dillon 2111

Division Three:

(Caboolture South and parts of Bellmere, Caboolture, Moodlu and Morayfield)

Adam Hain 12871

Kerri Raedel 6729

Division Five:

(Newport, Rothwell, Scarborough and parts of Deception Bay, Kippa-Ring and Narangba)

Garry Ohlson 2132

Sandra Ruck 9621

Dean Teasdale 7649

Division Six:

(Clontarf, Margate, Redcliffe, Woody Point and parts of Kippa-Ring)

Benita Suckling 3748

Karl Winchester 7886

Division Eight:

(Bray Park, Lawnton, Petrie, Strathpine and parts of Joyner, Kallangur and Kurwongbah)

Sue Laird 2963

Stephen Huxtable 1179

Jamie Walter 5420

Tara Seiffert-Smith 2754

Jim Moloney 7892

Division Ten:

(Arana Hills, Bunya, Draper, Everton Hills, Ferny Hills and parts of Albany Creek)

Matt Constance 13827

Andrew Murphy 3042

Brent McDowall 4149

Division 12:

(Bellthorpe, Booroobin, Bracalba, Campbells Pocket, Cedarton, Commissioners Flat, D'Aguilar, Delaneys Creek, Moorina, Mount Delaney, Mount Mee, Neurum, Rocksberg, Stanmore, Stony Creek, Upper Caboolture, Wamuran, Wamuran Basin, Woodford and parts of Bellmere, Burpengary, Caboolture, Elimbah, Moodlu and Morayfield)

Errol O'Brien 1334

Adrian Raedel 5032

Tony Latter 7878

ECQ says early figures suggest around one million electors cast their vote today. This is in addition to the around 1.1 million Queenslanders who voted early and around 300,000 who had returned their postal vote.


Related Stories

Popular Stories

Powering Bunya to state first
News / Local

Powering Bunya to state first

Moreton Bay City Council and green energy provider LGI have teamed-up to launch a Queensland first at Bunya. ** FREE TO READ **

Enter Redcliffe Show scarecrow competition
News / Local

Enter Redcliffe Show scarecrow competition

Crafty groups from schools, retirement homes/villages, businesses and community groups are being encouraged to enter Redcliffe Show’s inaugural scarecrow competition ahead of this year’s event.

Dr Peter Marendy, a lifetime of service
News / Local

Dr Peter Marendy, a lifetime of service

Dr Peter Charles Marendy will be remembered as a man who dedicated his life to serving and helping others – his church, patients, the medical profession and the local community. The much-loved long-time GP died on May 8, aged 91 years.