Pirates' star line-up for BPL17

Published 6:00am 17 February 2023

Pirates' star line-up for BPL17
Words by Nick Crockford

Pictured: Moreton Bay Pirates, from left, Chris Rosanes, Jo Edwards and Alex Marshall.

Moreton Bay Pirates are looking to go one step further in BPL17 (Bowls Premier League), which starts on Monday.

Pirates fell just short in BPL16, held at Club Pine Rivers last November, losing in the semi-final to Adelaide Pioneers, who lost the final.

But, they travel to Moama Bowls Club, in southern NSW, with a powerful team for the televised tournament – described as the Twenty20 of bowls.

Pirates have arguably the greatest player of all time in Alex Marshall and New Zealand star Jo Edwards, a multiple Commonwealth and World medallist.

They also have Queensland champion Chris Rosanes, pictured left, and Ryan Burnett as their coach.

Pirates' star line-up for BPL17
Moreton Bay Pirates coach Ryan Burnett

Burnett has had success in this event before when he coached Moama Steamers and will draw on his international experience with the USA.

Pirates' first game will be against Tweed Heads Ospreys on Monday and they hope to be on the green come Friday in the finals.

Ten teams from across Australia will be battling for the title with all the action live on Fox Sports, Kayo and Sky Sports.

Each BPL team plays the other twice over 18 rounds with the top five going into Friday’s finals series.

Matches take one hour and consist of two five-set ends with the two-person team having three bowls each per end.

Teams for BPL17:

Adelaide Pioneers: Scott Thulborn, Wayne Ruediger, Katelyn Inch (Coach – John Higgins)

Gold Coast Hawks: Shannon McIlroy, Nathan Rice, Kelsey Cottrell (Coach – Anthony Kiepe)

Melbourne eXtreme: Ali Forsyth, Matt Flapper, Natasha Van Eldik (Coach – Kelvin Kerkow OAM)

Melbourne Pulse: Barrie Lester, Gary Kelly, Ellen Ryan (Coach – Jeremy Henry)

Moama Steamers: Ryan Bester, Aron Sherriff, Cassandra Millerick (Coach – Kevin Anderson)

Moreton Bay Pirates: Alex Marshall MBE, Chris Rosanes, Jo Edwards MNZM (Coach – Ryan Burnett)

Perth Suns: Cody Packer, Blake Nairn, Kristina Krstic (Coach – Pieter Harris)

Sydney Lions: Ben Twist, Aaron Wilson, Karen Murphy AM (Coach – Steve Glasson OAM)

Tasmania Tridents: Taelyn Male, Michael Sims, Rebecca Van Asch (Coach – Mark Strochnetter)

Tweed Heads Ospreys: Aaron Teys, Corey Wedlock, Chloe Stewart (Coach – Wayne Turley OAM)


Related Stories

Popular Stories

Andy's epic run for special cause
News / Local

Andy's epic run for special cause

Andy Almond only took up running at the age of 46, but in just a few short years he’s taking on the biggest challenge of his life – running for 18 hours in honour of a young man who lost his life at the start of this year. Find out more... **FREE TO READ**

New magazine for the Redcliffe Peninsula
News / Local

New magazine for the Redcliffe Peninsula

Print community news is returning to the Redcliffe Peninsula, with the launch of the monthly magazine – The Redcliffe Peninsula. It’s out this week

What's in the stars for Summer
News / Local

What's in the stars for Summer

Renowned psychic medium and astrologer Patsy Bennett shares her complete guide to horoscopes for spring. Here's what's in store...